Watch
The Postman Always Rings Twice

The Postman Always Rings Twice

1946
Drama, Suspense/Thriller
1h 53m
A married woman and a drifter fall in love, then plot to murder her husband... but even once the deed is done, they must live with the consequences of their actions.
Directed by:
Written by:
Starring:
Country:
Language:
Your probable score
?

The Postman Always Rings Twice

1946
Drama, Suspense/Thriller
1h 53m
Your probable score
Avg Percentile 61.95% from 606 total ratings

Ratings & Reviews

(606)
Compact view
Compact view
Rated 18 Feb 2012
80
66th
The runtime feels a bit too long, but it's a classic, intriguing story with a moral story about comeuppance.
Rated 11 Jan 2007
3
38th
Feels a bit like a lesser Double Indemnity, but considering how much I love that, I don't intend that as a knock. Turner and Garfield are underhanded and sly, sneaking around not only the woman's husband but also each other, as they continually attempt to blackmail the other. Great twist ending as well.
Rated 13 Jul 2008
57
66th
It's a great concept, and there are definitely some good scenes, but the toned down grit and the redemptive ending make it feel far too moralistic for a noir.
Rated 17 Jun 2012
75
79th
Great Lana Turner. In fact, great everybody, acting-wise. :D Had its really suspenseful parts. The ending felt a teeny tiny bit out of place, though.
Rated 10 Dec 2009
86
74th
This version of Cain's novel soft-pedaled the brutal sexuality of the book in favor of smoldering looks and dialogue riddled with double entendres. There is something intriguing about Hollywood's notion of hinted sexuality.
Rated 01 Mar 2009
85
94th
Great piece of Noir, with a femme fatale to die for.
Rated 11 Jul 2009
80
58th
The real draws of this film are less about the acting and plot (which are fine), and more about the moody lighting, the tight framing, and the use of mise en scene, all of which create a prison-like atmosphere for the characters to fight and claw against. Both Frank and Cora desire to break out, but their initial deceits with each other only snowball throughout the film, leading to a striking and typically noirish finale.
Rated 06 Oct 2009
90
97th
Drenched in fatalism, this gave us a great femme fatale in the form of Lana Turner. The story is well-structured and its final act, which provides an extra layer of depth, is particularly good. One of the essential noirs.
Rated 02 Mar 2007
75
89th
Classic.
Rated 20 Jul 2014
66
68th
Often downright stupid characters and story makes this rather disappointing. Still very classy and fine acting from Lana Turner.
Rated 22 Oct 2007
100
92nd
The ultimate film noir. Sexy and slick, Garfield and Turner are red hot.
Rated 08 Feb 2009
82
83rd
2nd viewing after 6 years: Though not an airtight plot, it was nicely build up evolving slowly into a good story. Didn't like Garfield at the start but in the end his role wasn't badly played. Unlike Ossessione (based on the same book) this one captivates til the end and doesn't skimp on the suspense. This is not as impressive as a cinematic experience but overall does deserve a better score. I'm keeping my old rating.
Rated 26 Apr 2007
85
86th
Everything falls apart for everyone.
Rated 03 Jun 2012
85
59th
The Postman Always Rings Twice is a steamy story of seduction, betrayal and murder, and this film-noir pulls it off perfectly. Lana Turner is gorgeous and alluring and most of all, fantastic. John Garfield works well as her screen partner and Hume Cronyn has this interesting screen presence that almost helps him steal the show - but seriously, this is Turner's movie through and through.
Rated 29 Oct 2014
53
48th
Solidly acted and fairly atmospheric film noir, but it's sure ain't great. The first half is much better than the second, which drowns in a morass of plot twists. Hume Cronyn is the most interesting thing in the picture. It's a little difficult to understand why this is so very famous, since there are many far better noir flicks around.
Rated 20 Sep 2009
75
54th
I've seen this compared to Double Indemnity a lot. There are some similarities, but there are plenty of differences too. It's a reasonably engaging story, but the dialogue lacks pizzazz. The direction also seems flat, especially in comparison to Wilder's work. And the leads aren't that great, either. Garfield isn't a guy you root for like Macmurray, and Turner isn't a gal you secretly root for like Stanwyck. But it's a solid noir picture, with a notable supporting performance from Cronyn.
Rated 07 Sep 2021
3
45th
Doomed adulterers desperately grasping to escape the hole they've dug for themselves, but we all know that poetic justice reigns in film noir, and in one circular fateful way or another the price must be paid. An obvious companion piece to Double Indemnity, engaging but not nearly as sharp as that film. It does have Hume Cronyn though, who made better every film he was in.
Rated 07 Aug 2022
60
51st
It drags on a bit, but it stands up pretty well for such an old film.
Rated 09 Nov 2022
79
58th
The slick and glossier answer to DOUBLE INDEMNITY – there are elements here that best the already high standard of the earlier film; Cronyn in particular is the diabolical standout, but Turner and Garfield give Stanwyck and MacMurray a run for their money, especially in the first hour when the tension between them threatens to explode. It’s a shame that the film goes for the obvious and literal far too often (Kellaway is a too perfect cuckhold and dupe). Enjoyable, if far from top-tier noir.
Rated 22 Nov 2010
84
77th
Lana Turner's striking looks are the most memorable part of this film, her blond hair and white dresses standing out of the shadows. The story isn't great but it's very well executed and more than good enough to allow the characters to develop and interact all the way up to a solid ending.
Rated 06 Sep 2015
60
19th
After numerous lust driven murder attempts and faked accidents the movie goes completely off focus. Director resorts to the "God's Purposes" strategy to wrap it up. Really weak. Postman never rang once and certainly didn't deliver either
Rated 06 Nov 2013
66
26th
Pretty decent with a few good twists. I was expecting more because of its classic status.
Rated 25 Feb 2016
13
69th
Star Rating: ★★★1/2
Rated 04 Oct 2017
75
61st
That ending stinks.
Rated 04 Apr 2009
60
21st
OMG that was real boring, what's the hype all about ? Don't understand it in that case ?!?
Rated 05 Oct 2008
58
12th
I've scored this too high. It felt like such a waste of time.
Rated 16 Apr 2012
90
59th
good job!
Rated 10 Feb 2011
75
73rd
While this is a very good and sensual film I felt that it was really hemmed in by the Hays code.The ending especially felt like it was made to conform.The chemistry between Nick (John Garfield) and Cora (Lana Turner) is very good.The supporting cast is very good.
Rated 09 Dec 2014
74
59th
Too cynical, sprightly, and funny to really support it's classic status. Nonetheless, it's a pretty good yarn. The fatale and the drifter are classics of their type and Hume Cronyn's performance is hilarious. Well worth your time.
Rated 12 May 2007
60
29th
Maybe I was too young, too inexperienced with noirs when I watched it - still, a lot of the acting rang false with me, and the limitations imposed by the Hays Code make it laughable at points. There's like ten endings to it which doesn't help at all.
Rated 23 Apr 2016
74
39th
Hume Cronyn is the only thing that lives up to the hype.
Rated 12 Sep 2007
77
40th
Pretty good, though it almost feels like it ends a few too many times. It works though.
Rated 09 Feb 2009
50
24th
Okey. Solid but colourless direction, and a sexy but dull femme fatale in the center. Not bad, but a bit "been there, done that".
Rated 07 Apr 2017
60
54th
Pretty rote first-hour, but it shines when Garfield and Turner are turned against each other, at least until the horrible last 3 minutes.
Rated 14 Oct 2020
80
99th
I've already seen and loved both the French adaptation Le dernier tournant (1939) & Italian version Ossessione (1943) of The Postman Always Rings Twice, but I loved the American one from '46 the most! I felt Tay Garnett managed to balance it well. More than anything, it's the pairing of John Garfield with Lana Turner that carries the dynamic and intrigue of the experience. Watch them play each other in a dangerous game, and appreciate the ironic faiths thrown at them. There's an aura about it.
Rated 29 Mar 2018
70
45th
I had no sympathy or attraction for the main characters (and just laughed at the final lines), since they boil down to a couple of selfish, double-crossing scumbags, but I guess that's often just the way noir is. The story is tense, visually appealing and well-played. I like the remote diner setting (à la Petrified Forest). Overall, though, not as good as Double Indemnity.
Rated 18 Nov 2020
68
35th
The cast all around are great. Hume Cronyn almost steals the movie as the scheming lawyer. The movie to me felt like a more romantic sleeker take on noir It misses the grittier humane side of better noirs to me. Still enjoyable, just not as great a noir to me as its reputation made me think. Also it feels stretched out with a longer runtime than necessary.
Rated 24 Oct 2021
74
62nd
When Frank brings the metal balls into the room and Cora is ironing - one of the most stressful scenes I've experienced. Take the goddamned iron off the clothes! You'll burn the material!

Cast & Info

Directed by:
Written by:
Starring:
Country:
Language:

Collections

(38)
Compact view
Showing 25 - 38 of 38 results

Similar Titles

Loading ...

Statistics

Loading ...

Trailer

No Trailer