Watch
The Sixth Sense

The Sixth Sense

1999
Drama, Suspense/Thriller
1h 47m
In this chilling, psychological thriller, 8-year-old Cole Sear (Osment) is haunted by a dark secret: he is visited by ghosts. Confused by his paranormal powers, Cole is too young to understand his purpose and too afraid to tell anyone about his anguish, except child psychologist Dr. Malcolm Crowe (Willis). As Dr. Crowe tries to uncover the ominous truth about Cole's supernatural abilities, the consequences for client and therapist are a jolt that awakens them both to something harrowing...and unexplainable. (Hollywood Pictures)
Directed by:
Written by:
Starring:
Country:
Languages:
Your probable score
?

The Sixth Sense

1999
Drama, Suspense/Thriller
1h 47m
Your probable score
Avg Percentile 61.51% from 20562 total ratings

Ratings & Reviews

(20563)
Compact view
Compact view
Rated 10 Mar 2012
97
99th
The ending is rightly infamous. Haley Joel Osment's performance is awe-inspiring and the script is absolutely brilliant, requiring very finely tuned direction and editing to be pulled off. Few films will teach you more about your own viewing processes. We expect to be informed of relevant facts, and so to rewatch Shyamalan's masterful breakthrough film is to marvel at his narrational sleight-of-hand. On repeat viewings it stays chilling and highly engaging.
Rated 29 Nov 2007
100
95th
I would never have dreamed that a scary yet warm-hearted ghost story would become a summer runaway success. It thoroughly deserves it, too. In light of Shyamalan's rapid decline afterwards, everyone seems to be lining up to bash him, but this movie deserves to be remembered on its own merits
Rated 06 Mar 2019
95
84th
People who have seen the movie know what the big twist is, people who HAVEN'T seen this movie knownwhat the big twist is. I actually thought it was pretty well hidden and still enjoyed watching everything unfold having known what the twist was. A very emotional score and heart wrenching ending that I didn't see coming. Willis and Osment are both very good in their roles. Shyamalan's directing is actually effect too. Absolutely loved this movie.
Rated 14 Aug 2007
8
82nd
A very good movie that gets a lot of unnecessary hate cause Shyamalan went on to direct some really bad movies and people love to hate him. This is an excellent movie with a great twist ending with good performances from Osment and Willis.
Rated 14 Aug 2007
70
52nd
A well made film, but I read a Goosebumps book with the exact same twist so I had trouble getting over that...
Rated 14 Aug 2007
92
95th
I admit I didn't see the ending coming when I first saw it, and it is reactions like that that have given M. Night Shyamalan his rep. This is still the best thing he's put out, however, with Unbreakable being a close second, and Signs and The Village nowhere near them.
Rated 07 Apr 2012
80
88th
Spoiler alert! M. Night Shyamalan only has one more good movie in him after this!
Rated 24 Oct 2008
66
41st
I knew the twist going in (who doesn't know it now?), and the movie is very well put-together, but without the twist, where does it go? It becomes pretty obvious that the script is just building up to that one event, which then happens in very unsubtle matter complete with flashbacks because apparently we can't remember what happened an hour ago. It also doesn't help that the plot was mostly taken from an episode of Are You Afraid of the Dark that I remember watching as a kid.
Rated 19 Nov 2016
87
69th
The Sixth Sense is a mind-bending, psychologically satisfying drama film that teeters on the edge between supernatural thriller and all-out horror.
Rated 19 May 2012
90
93rd
When echoing the distant past of great potential squandered and undelivered, not many debuts stand so painfully crystallized as Shyamalan's 'The Sixth Sense'. Easily dismissed as a gimmick movie, it is best viewed as a heartbreaking supernatural drama, undeniably brilliant in build up and execution. It was a false promise that a new master of suspence had sounded his arrival. Well, how far the mighty have fallen, what crushingly disappointing tumble from this tiny but shiny gem.
Rated 14 Aug 2007
45
34th
Ross, Violent Democracy, p. 64: "The Sixth Sense shirks the irresponsible fascination with ghosts in your 'average' horror movie, yet this 'moral' stand depends on the very immorality it rejects. In the guise of a call to remember the violent crimes of the past, it actually finds itself needing to forget the worse crime. And, furthermore, to heal the wounds of those violent crimes it does 'remember,' it concocts mechanisms for exorcising ghosts that work to make justice miraculously attainable."
Rated 14 Aug 2007
85
56th
An effective and creepy movie that deepens with repeated viewings despite the twist ending.
Rated 14 Aug 2007
75
64th
Widely recognized as Shyamalan's best work. Well acted and surprisingly scary psychological drama that will have you reaching fortissues during the last half hour. Launched a Hollywood infatuation with "twist endings".
Rated 21 Sep 2010
76
92nd
People hate Shyamalan. He tricked them. The dirty fucker. Also there are super cool people that also enjoy bragging that they knew within 4.6 seconds the big twist. Well la di fucking da. It's a well made thriller that does what's supposed to; entertain.
Rated 01 Mar 2015
90
90th
It is hard to go 16 years without getting this movie spoiled to you, but if you have the chance I compel you too. Shyamalan's good film is a REALLY good, and so are his actors. Willis and Osment rock. While the ending is a little subpar and expected, the script is still smart and cool. The direction is the standout though. It creates a really tense and creepy atmospher, I won't soon forget. Awesome.
Rated 13 Jan 2007
88
90th
One of Shyamalan's best works. Osment's magnificent..
Rated 21 Feb 2010
80
84th
Even without the super duper Shyamalan gimmick twist it's still a decent story and the interaction between Osment and Willis is charming enough. All the hype doesn't diminish this much in my eyes. It's a contemporary ghost story that's intriguing and manages to play off of the acting strengths of both Osment and Willis.
Rated 07 Jun 2017
88
83rd
Full disclosure: I knew the twist going in, but I still really enjoyed this film. The Sixth Sense is a bit of an odd duck in its genre when it comes to its pacing (largely because of the twist ending), but that makes it feel really unique and quite chilling at times. Osment and Willis work quite well together and both put some solid performances on screen. I love the way the twist is executed, and even if you know it going in, this can still be an incredibly compelling film.
Rated 14 Aug 2007
55
35th
I didn't really feel anything other than bored.
Rated 20 Feb 2010
100
90th
This thriller has the best twist ever. Too bad every one knows it now. I saw it without a clue and it blew me away. It's still one of the best of its genre.
Rated 14 Aug 2007
25
17th
It has some great ideas, but it's executed horribly. Haley Joel Osment is awesome and manages to be the best actor in this movie. He's an absolute joy to watch. Willis is good too, of course. But that's as far as the good acting goes. The whole concept is executed cheesily and it's all incredibly exagerated. How about making it even SLIGHTLY subtle so the audience can try to figure out the end twist for themselves? Of course not, let's spell it out to their face over and over. Good one.
Rated 14 Aug 2007
98
95th
Shyalaman will forever be chasing the greatness of his first film.
Rated 06 Mar 2019
8
78th
(after repeat viewings) Still great after 20 years, especially in terms of craft, performances and character development. More than just a horror film, it conveys a thing or two about the haunting power of memory and the lasting impact a person can have when they're no longer with us. I also don't get teary-eyed easily, but that scene with Cole and his mom in the car is an all-timer. Long live 90's camcorders.
Rated 30 Apr 2020
63
93rd
On rare occasions, I'll see a movie with a scene so perfectly acted that I get goosebumps. This movie has two. My only real complaint would be Olivia Williams feels miscast, and her accent sounds caught between English and American. Much praise for the opening scene, which masterfully steers the audience on the right path for the rest of the movie. People who think it's funny to reveal the ending have tiny wiener energy.
Rated 18 Jun 2009
51
20th
The movie that started the M. Night Shymalan "twist" at the end of every film. It is pretty intersting, but loses all rewatachability and charm at the end.
Rated 25 Jul 2010
93
81st
Haunting film, and a magnificent and unexpected ending
Rated 09 Oct 2008
91
96th
got me! Absolutely fantastic acting by Haley Joel Osment!
Rated 06 May 2013
90
90th
Even on a rewatch (and thus knowing the famous "Shyamalan twist" ending), this film drips with atmosphere and moodiness, helped in no small part by James Newton Howard's excellent soundtrack and stellar performances by Osment, Willis and Toni Collette.
Rated 06 May 2009
99
99th
My all-time favourite movie!
Rated 16 Aug 2011
8
80th
Very well-built plot. Too bad multiple plot points have been ruined for recent viewers like me because of the widespread knowledge and parody of this movie.
Rated 25 Jun 2007
94
98th
Very chilling, the child actor is great.
Rated 11 Dec 2008
95
91st
This is another film that has become sort of a pop icon, taking away from its own great accomplishment. That, and the one, two, or three films M. Night Shyamalan made since then that everybody hated. Personally, this movie resonated with me in a horrific way weeks after i saw it at that drive-in theatre. In that same film i lauged, wondered and almost teared up. Even sadder that Shyamalan created his masterpiece so early in his career.
Rated 30 May 2017
7
75th
The twist is that the guy is Bruce Willis the whole time.
Rated 24 Sep 2007
3
61st
Bruce is a ghost.
Rated 03 Jan 2018
94
81st
A movie worth re-examining. The Sixth Sense is over-hyped these days to be sure. And the final twist has been talked about to death so to speak. That being said, the script is clever and the visuals compliment it perfectly. Planning ahead every step of the way, this movie goes a long way toward proving that M. Night Shyamalan was never meant to be a one hit wonder.
Rated 17 Jul 2009
59
15th
Interesting concept, however, the execution lame and non-scary.
Rated 26 Feb 2015
71
53rd
It's difficult to understand why this was so acclaimed while Unbreakable and The Village (just as good, if not better) were more coldly received. All the same, it's a compelling, attractive thriller with a metronomic pace that I would recommend to anybody who likes this kind of film, even if they know the twist in advance, which they almost certainly will.
Rated 19 Mar 2007
82
65th
The Sixth Sense is a very creative suspense movie with excellent performances all around. Though it isn't quite as good after you already know the plot twist, it's still great to this very day.
Rated 21 Feb 2016
94
77th
the plot twists of all plot twists
Rated 17 Jan 2010
90
86th
Shyamalan's best film. A wonderful mix of suspense with mild horror elements with fantastic performances by Osmint and Willis.
Rated 19 Mar 2010
100
96th
MIND FUCKED
Rated 22 Nov 2006
69
42nd
this movie would be fine if I hadn't had it figured out in 10 minutes.
Rated 25 Dec 2006
97
97th
Still the best Shyamalan movie. And that's definitely aying something.
Rated 28 Sep 2009
59
55th
Spooky, well acted film. It influenced pop culture a lot, but I don't see why. Story was a big disappointment.
Rated 14 Aug 2007
10
4th
An insult to its viewer's supposed intelligence.
Rated 26 Jul 2008
75
53rd
While it has a few good scares and is a great viewing the first time, once you are aware of what happens, it loses its appeal. Way too much emphasis put on the twist (which is a good one, but anyways).
Rated 28 Aug 2007
90
96th
- excellent
Rated 13 Sep 2015
90
50th
you would never guess
Rated 20 Oct 2017
89
86th
I'm baffled by the fact that for all this time I was managing to somehow avoid spoilers - the ending totally caught me off guard
Rated 25 Mar 2010
45
85th
A good movie pretty much any day of the week. It kills me to say it, but it's quite the directorial feat.
Rated 03 Jul 2012
86
81st
M. Night Shayamalan's The Sixth Sense is a twisty ghost story with all the style of a classical Hollywood picture, but all the chills of a modern horror flick.
Rated 07 Aug 2017
81
69th
Shyamalan is a smart snot that later turned into a lazy, less smart, snot. But here he is good. It works.
Rated 01 Aug 2009
72
36th
Sure, it's a decent horror film for what it is, but once you've gone through it once, there's ZERO rewatchability. Bruce Willis and Haley Joel Osment are great together, but this is the definition of a one trick pony, and definitely not Shyamalan's best film.
Rated 28 Sep 2013
89
95th
This is a great film that has a famous ending that really makes the movie great. Haley Joel Osment is great in the film and the rest of the cast does a fine job as well. The script is outstanding, the film is great from start to finish. I highly recommend this film.
Rated 13 Sep 2007
98
99th
I didn't really know what this movie was about when I saw it in the theatre. I've since read a lot about it and understand how loaded with symbolism it is. Very well done suspense. A modern day classic.
Rated 15 May 2008
100
92nd
They totally got me with the whole surprise. Totally missed it.
Rated 04 Dec 2009
78
65th
I feel like I would've rated this movie 20 points better if the whole world wouldn't have spoiled the ending for me a hundred times over
Rated 19 Feb 2007
83
61st
No, I also didn't expect the twist. Worth watching twice, just to see how cleverly it is done. The only thing I really hate about this film is that it made "surprising twist endings" cool and almost every other film in the following years had to have one. But that isn't really Shyamalan's fault, is it?
Rated 13 Jun 2007
80
87th
Who didn't like the 6th Sense, before word of the ending got out and ruined it for everyone that hadn't seen it yet?
Rated 23 Feb 2009
65
40th
So very over-rated, but ok.
Rated 14 Aug 2007
90
85th
A superb thiller with amazing performances by Haley Joel Osment, Toni Collette, and even Bruce Willis. It also has one of the most widely and deservedly praised twist endings. There are plenty of great jump-out-of-your-seat scares, and even more creepy ones. M. Night Shyamalan does a great job directing and his writing is so good it convinced him to do it all the time (which has been a mistake).
Rated 06 Jul 2012
15
16th
It's entertaining enough, the kid is good, there are some effective scenes, but the more you think about the twist (which I knew beforehand) and how the film is build around it, the cheaper the whole movie starts to feel.
Rated 24 May 2017
75
67th
Is it as good on a rewatch once you know the twist? I don't know because I only saw it the once. I do wonder if it's even possible for people to still be surprised by it though. The spoiler seems almost as prevalent as Vader being Luke's father.
Rated 18 May 2009
93
94th
Well done. Characters believable. Well Structured. Best work from this director.
Rated 15 Oct 2015
82
74th
Nearly every shot is rich in color, even if the thread of red manifests a bit too overtly - who wears a bright red dress to a funeral anyway? "Thriller" is a misnomer, really it's the most humanizing, feelgood ghost story since Ghost. There's hardly any thrills, though some say if you turn the volume up at night you can hear the ghost of Shyamalan rubbing his nipples while Cole talks about telling stories with twists.
Rated 04 Oct 2009
90
94th
Ahh, what a fragile little movie. One wrong phrase, a slight slip of the tongue, and all the delicious fulfillment to be gathered from the (great) ending is demolished. Too bad it's M. Night Shyamalan's single, decent effort :/
Rated 20 May 2009
54
25th
I was not impressed at all!
Rated 04 Jan 2016
97
83rd
A great thriller. Such a cool movie.
Rated 18 Aug 2009
88
52nd
Excellent concept. The final plot twist was kept well wrapped even though it was in the open. One of the best movies of Shyamalan. Most of his other movies lack something that this had. He has picked nice concepts in all his movies, but this is the one which turned out well.
Rated 10 Sep 2009
80
78th
You know that weird kid that went to your school who you used to punch in the back of the head? Well he had to talk to dead people about their fucked up problems, so you probably should have cut him some slack, you prick. Still he's got his own movie now and his elaborate toy soldier fantasies are now, like, totally poignant.
Rated 23 Aug 2015
75
68th
Pretty good!
Rated 04 Dec 2015
99
99th
A
Rated 06 Jan 2015
80
54th
Remember when M. Night could write a coherent story?
Rated 20 Apr 2009
90
50th
M.Nights best film.
Rated 09 Jun 2008
95
97th
Master-piece from Shyamalan
Rated 08 May 2015
10
92nd
The story did drag a bit but the spooky ending more than made up for it.
Rated 08 Aug 2009
63
15th
"So, nobody talks to Bruce Willis except the kid who can see dead people....he's meant to be dead, right?" "I guess so." and then an hour and a half or whatever later "WHAT"
Rated 23 Jan 2008
100
98th
It doesn't get any better than this.
Rated 14 Aug 2007
76
51st
This was the first of M. Night Shamalamadingdong's films to really get noticed (Stuart Little doesn't count). It's a good film but really is just a one trick pony. No real rewatchability here. Osment and Willis are both very good.
Rated 14 Aug 2007
84
89th
Nicely done, M. Night Shyamalan hits the map again with a resounding thud (in a good way). It's a shame he knew he did well with this one, because everything else of his since sucks.
Rated 10 Feb 2015
85
85th
At the time, this was one of the coolest movies with one of the greatest twists. Now, it's still a great movie, but in hindsight it's a "lightning can strike even for Shyamalan" sort of exercise, which takes away some of the fun. Still brilliant, though, even if the brilliance is accidental. And I do enjoy the rest of the movie, not just the twist.
Rated 31 Oct 2011
88
88th
A disturbing, unsettling emotionally charged thriller with great performances from the three leads.
Rated 28 May 2008
90
84th
Bruce Willis and Haley Joel Osment really catch the audience attention till the end.
Rated 27 Feb 2007
50
20th
Basically this is about John McClane protecting the little kid from terrorists who want to extract his brain and perform some wierd experiments on it or something like that. I'm not entirely sure because I couldn't hear anything that was said because everybody insisted on whispering all through the film. I guess that's what passes for acting nowadays.
Rated 21 Dec 2009
86
71st
A superior ghost story.
Rated 17 Mar 2010
97
95th
If you allow it to sweep you up so that it can surprise you later, this film makes itself enjoyable. It's not something that makes you feel stupid, but lets you bask in the fact that you were right on the same page as the good psychiatrist in the film. All the way.
Rated 06 Sep 2015
10
94th
Occasionally shocking, consistently intriguing and deeply touching The Sixth Sense is a slow burning masterpiece that really does lend itself to a rewatch as there is much more to this haunting tale than the famous twist.
Rated 26 Jan 2008
95
92nd
Great movie, even the second time you see it.
Rated 08 Jan 2012
100
96th
still one of my favorite films
Rated 22 Jul 2015
78
87th
Osment is outstanding as is the constant build up of suspense. Unfortunately, there isn't a big mind blowing finale, only a solving twist presenting an idea that crossed your mind since the film had started.
Rated 03 Mar 2007
4
70th
That scene in the car where Osment tells his mom about her dead mom is so fucking good.
Rated 25 Feb 2007
90
82nd
best Shyamalan movie so far...
Rated 22 Aug 2015
8
76th
The Sixth Sense was a phenomenon upon it's release and M. Night Shyamalan looked to be the next big filmmaker of our times. Sadly his career took a mysterious decline and his films since have been of mixed quality. Bruce Willis gives one of his best performances and on repeated viewings I remember how impressive Haley Joel Osment is also. Repeated viewings of this film are surprisingly satisfying and in retrospect you look at the film completely differently. But that first viewing was priceless.
Rated 22 Jul 2009
69
53rd
The one film Shyamalan didn't ruin.
Rated 15 Feb 2010
80
60th
Ah, yes, the days when ol' M. Night made viewable movies....... Oh, how I miss it.....
Rated 14 Aug 2007
70
56th
Shayamalan sets the right moods at the right times, and outside of a needless "surprise" ending, gets the most of the quality screenplay.
Rated 27 Apr 2016
15
82nd
W4E1P2S2V1M1A2R2. Hard to rate this so far removed, now that M. Night has worn out his welcome and become sort of a laughing stock, but this was all anyone talked about for 2 months when it came out. Gotta give it credit for sheer impact if not for the movie itself.
Rated 23 Nov 2016
90
60th
Bruce Willis excels i this film showing a depth to his acting skills. A touching film that grips the viewer.
Rated 30 Mar 2018
86
87th
Dark, brooding with a legendary twist and generally effective creepy tone, with excellent acting performances. Definitely peak Shamalamadingdong
Rated 16 May 2018
78
69th
A great twist and fantastic direction with great performances from Bruce Willis and Haley Joel Osment makes this a really good movie

Cast & Info

Directed by:
Written by:
Starring:
Country:
Languages:

Collections

(103)
Compact view
This doesn't yet belong to any collections
Showing 457 - 103 of 103 results

Similar Titles

Loading ...

Statistics

Loading ...