Total newb questions

Wondering how Criticker works, or have a question that doesn't seem to fit under requests or bugs?
NonyaBeezWax
2524 Ratings
Your TCI: na

Total newb questions

Post by NonyaBeezWax »

I'm sure i must be doing something wrong- whenever i have a question or feel like i don't understand something, the same questions have already been asked, there are usually a million tutorials if a person only looks. But i can't find anything..

Criticker is confusing. Awesome but confusing- are there any tutorials, videos, or similar that explain it like we're babies? The whole concept seems genius, i just don't understand why it's not working the way i think it should be.

For example, from the main page, on the right side is an area where you can "create my own recommendation". I pick suspense/thriller and date range 2005-2016 and hit go, the result is a foreign language film. I love foreign language films usually, but after a long day i don't really want to read, no big deal i hit go again and get another foreign language film. I hit it a dozen times, almost every one of them is foreign language.

I haven't gotten into the main functions yet because i don't understand them- the site has a general description of each thing, but i don't understand it nearly enough to know how to use it, when i try explore/recommendations, i some older titles, a lot of foreign language, i don't really watch older things, definitely not before the 70's, but it seems to think i'd like these- the PSI's are between 55 and 70 usually.

I have imported my IMDB ratings, i think around 1500 of them, very few are foreign language or earlier than 2000's. I have generated 50 more TCI's, in fact i think one of the last times it gave me a warning- it said it was going to tell on me or something for using it too much.. Is there a way to have it take what it knows so far and list the movies it knows about with the highest PSI on top, instead of just a handful of seemingly random titles?