Watch
Netflix Netflix basic with Ads
Malcolm & Marie

Malcolm & Marie

2021
Romance, Drama
1h 46m
After a couple return home from a film premiere they must confront some buried feelings from the past as they wait on reviews for the new film.
Directed by:
Written by:
Starring:
Country:
Genres:
Language:
Your probable score
?

Malcolm & Marie

2021
Romance, Drama
1h 46m
Your probable score
Avg Percentile 34.38% from 333 total ratings

Ratings & Reviews

(333)
Compact view
Compact view
Rated 07 Feb 2021
3
15th
Sam Levinson should have just filmed himself jerking off into the camera, woulda been sumthin different--and shorter. When the characters manage to shut the fuck up, the visuals are disarming and emotionally convincing: simple and effective framing, bold lighting, and textured use of the black & white format. The cigarette scene was great! Would've been greater if it punctuated a competently written script. Who's greenlighting the crap that keeps shooting out of Netflix's bright-red sphincter?
Rated 28 Feb 2021
55
59th
(MALCORONI & MACHEESE)
Rated 08 Feb 2021
45
10th
Truly annoying writing and performance. Feels like a director using the "Scenes From A Marriage" template to air out his shallow frustrations with the movie industry. Even if there is a grain of truth here and there - they become completely drowned out in a sea of obnoxious ranting.
Rated 09 Feb 2021
68
21st
Truly fantastic performances and cinematography, but it’s just so damn empty. I don’t agree with a lot of the major criticisms of this movie, especially because Washington’s character is clearly meant to be a jackass, but in the end it’s essentially not about anything besides itself.
Rated 11 Feb 2021
75
37th
Great delivery of lines by both actors. Cinematography was minimalist yet still very interesting. Music was good and kept me engaged. My main issue with this film is the pacing with the build up and subsequent calm down after every argument. No one argues in this manner in one night, and it made the lengthy monologues hard to handle sometimes.
Rated 05 Feb 2021
95
91st
Zendaya and John David Washington deliver line after line, emotional response after emotional response and it all culminates in Marie sitting on the floor holding a knife speaking about relapsing in an attempt to show Malcolm how authentic she can truly be. That's when you know Zendaya is for real. That's when you know this movie is heavy and understandably not for everyone.
Rated 06 Feb 2021
65
19th
w/ Kaan
Rated 07 Feb 2021
40
17th
First of all, soundtrack and cinematography awesome. We examine the toxic relationship of two people, so Malcolm&Marie resembles me Revolutionary Road and Marriage Story. Usually, I can't stand J.David Washington but he did well in this movie, even better than Zendaya whice surprise me. Malcolm and Marie are disrespectful, selfish and annoying characters but most relationships in the world are like this. We gotta be real,so my final conclusion is acting&shooting good but story didn't go anywhere
Rated 09 Feb 2021
40
10th
actors were good. music was good.
Rated 09 Feb 2021
45
8th
Did anyone see Zendaya? I thought Zendaya was lovely
Rated 09 Feb 2021
68
45th
At times the dialogue is frustrating, but more often enjoyable. Zendaya is great, cinematography and directing as well.
Rated 10 Feb 2021
50
6th
50 for zendaya but thats about it
Rated 10 Feb 2021
44
0th
I love talkative film when the director has something to say, but Levinson had nothing of value to add here, and dropping names of other directors and their classics won't make your film one no matter how hard you tried.
Rated 15 Feb 2021
75
53rd
Two great performances, which is necessary given that this took place in one house across one night. It's angry, compassionate, sad, angry again, angry... okay so there's a lot of anger. The script touches a lot on relationships, trauma and filmmaking (among other things). I won't say it's AMAZING but I was entertained by these two and their chemistry. I can't help but wonder how many critics took some of this personally.
Rated 16 Feb 2021
55
34th
John David Washington ve Zendaya'dan siyah beyaz tek mekanda geçen filmi. Yönetmen Malcolm, eşi Marie ile filmlerinin galasından evine döner. Birbirleri arasında 1 çatışma yaşanacaktır. Ağır ilerleyen tempo, oyuncuların gücüne bırakılmış. Oyuncular da repliğim çok güçlü egosuyla da kendine güven vermiş. Çok fazla anlaşmazlık ortaya çıkarılmış. Ev 1 oyuncu olsa çok güzel. Filmin sonunda, teşekkür ediyor. Sarılmandan belli kırcan mı belimi?
Rated 19 Feb 2021
60
32nd
A 35 year old man, all muscle and hard spirits, gaslights and verbally abuses a 20 year old string bean for 100 minutes in beautiful black and white, and because she occasionally points out his flaws we're meant to believe that they're on equal footing and this is just a lovers' quarrel. Cast Marie in Washington's age bracket and maybe, at best, you could walk away thinking they're both just messed up angry people. It's deeply uncomfortable, but otherwise pretty shallow.
Rated 19 Feb 2021
30
22nd
Tenet... but with words instead of bullets.
Rated 12 Mar 2021
70
29th
OMG just break up.
Rated 03 Apr 2021
57
23rd
Comes over as pretty pretentious. I really liked the camerawork though.
Rated 03 Apr 2021
62
8th
After precisely half of an hour we see the same exact initial scene: marie smoking angry outside, malcolm drinking inside not even aware of the fact that his girlfriend is hurt by something he said. I call this poor writing and 0 character evolution. Probably 100 monkeys typing random on a keyboard would have been able to write something better. Pretentious
Rated 09 Apr 2021
91
95th
idontthinkieverputbutterinmymaclool+forgottothankherlol+hessuchachildlmao+sheistoo:P+cutshersohardaboutexesitwasactuallyaboutetc-youwannabeneededijustloveyou-thatsthepartbasedonyou(hershiverlipmakemetearupabitlool)+whydidn'tyoucastme:'(nowcantsaymystory/makeuglybeautiful
Rated 27 Aug 2021
52
8th
'Oh, look at me: I'm such a deep movie. I'm in black and white, that's the only thing that makes it interesting.'
Rated 05 Dec 2021
45
47th
☆ Going for a film noir style, I think the visuals are very pretty and easy on the eye (especially considering the casting)! It's all set in the same house, with very little visual variety. I also find the way Levinson's writing a little tone deaf in this film. ☆
Rated 11 Dec 2021
90
98th
This is the movie of the year for me. To be able to make this, given the situation, is just incredible. Powerful performances and slick filming techniques, coupled with pretty intense dialogue (which is both, at times, scathing and raw). It is reflective of the talents of all involved.
Rated 01 Nov 2022
65
18th
1.11.2022 Kartal, İstanbul
Rated 29 May 2023
2
22nd
Over indulgence of intelligence. Stretched too long, so even the novel, appealing elements of the film start to lose their charm. Ironical that the movie is supposed to be a mirror to realistic relationships, yet the character's relationship, which tries to incorporate and mimic the dynamic between any/several everyday couple/couples, is grossly blown up with loud emotions and then stuffed into the viewers face giving a sense of whatever is happening on the screen to be totally artificial.

Cast & Info

Directed by:
Written by:
Starring:
Country:
Genres:
Language:

Collections

(2)
Compact view
This doesn't yet belong to any collections
Showing 25 - 2 of 2 results

Similar Titles

Loading ...

Statistics

Loading ...